HAIDER – Quick thoughts

I must admit right up front, that I wasn’t one of the many who was impressed by the trailer of this one and hence wasn’t on my immediate must-watch list. But boy did I really like the movie or what! Haider is one of the most gorgeous movies I’ve ever seen, besides being extremely relevant. Whether it’s the cinematography, the music, the acting, the poetry, the words, everything is so so beautiful. Supremely acted – melancholic & ethereal Tabu (best of the lot), Irrfan (what a cameo!), career best turn from Shahid and a nicely underplayed slimy Kay Kay, topped with Gulzarsaab’s and Faiz’s magical words set to Vishal’s lovely score across Pankaj Kumar’s stunning imagery, everything comes together – indeed like poetry on screen. I did have some issues though – mainly the slightly chaotic timelines, abruptly cut short characters, the unnecessary romantic song and track and the mildly skimmed upon oedipal complex which I wish had been explored better. And no, I definitely didn’t have any issues with the politics of the film as many seem to have had. It worked fine for me. Haider is a fascinating Hamlet adaptation set in the backdrop of a brimming political environment that’s meant to be felt on the big screen.  To see or… not to see, not a question.

Haider1

My score: 7.5 on 10

HAIDER

Directed by: Vishal Bhardwaj

Starring: Tabu, Shahid Kapoor, Kay Kay Menon, Irrfan

Running time: 166 minutes

Say something!

